City scape

Healthcare Financial Management Association

The NHS is an exciting and challenging place to work. In April 2013 the NHS underwent a radical reform and re-structure bringing new and increasingly complex challenges for NHS leaders and staff.

Overview of NHS South West, NHS South Central and NHS West Midlands

In July 2010 Andrew Lansley, Secretary of State for Health unveiled a new white paper describing significant structural changes to the NHS under the Conservative and Liberal Democrat Coalition Government. In April 2013 the changes came into effect by law and referred to as the 2012 Health and Social Care Act. The Act introduced a number of key changes to the NHS in England including the abolition of Primary Care Trusts and Strategic Health Authorities and the introduction of Clinical Commissioning Groups, the ‘cornerstones’ of the new health system. Local Clinical Commissioning Groups made up of GPs, hospital doctors and nurses and other specialists take charge of commissioning services for their local population. They are held to account by an independent NHS Commissioning Board, who in turn is nationally accountable for the outcomes achieved by the NHS, and providing leadership for the new commissioning system.

All NHS Trusts must aim to become NHS Foundation Trusts by 2014. Foundation Trust status gives hospitals more financial autonomy. They will be accountable to local people, who can become members and governors. They are no longer performance managed by health authorities – instead they are overseen by Monitor.

NHS South of England stretches from Penzance to Margate, serving a population of 13.4 million people. It has a budget of £21.1 billion. The West Midlands region employs around 126,000 finance staff and serves a population approaching 5.3 million people from all social economic and ethnic backgrounds.

NHS South West

NHS South West is based around the following counties: Bath and North East Somerset, Bristol, Cornwall, Devon, Dorset, Gloucestershire, Somerset and Wiltshire. There are twelve Clinical Commissioning Groups in the south west that report to one of the three south west regional offices of NHS England.

There are twenty six trusts in the South West, nineteen of which are acute and six are mental health. There is also one ambulance trust. Eighteen of these organisations are Foundation Trusts. 

NHS South Central

The South Central region covers the five counties of Oxfordshire, Buckinghamshire, Berkshire, Hampshire and the Isle of Wight.

There are thirty six NHS organisations in the area consisting of six NHS Trusts, eight Foundation Trust’s, one ambulance service and seventeen Clinical Commissioning groups which are supported by the regions two commissioning support units. The south central area also includes 3 regional offices of NHS England. 

NHS West Midlands

NHS West Midlands is based around the following counties: Arden, Herefordshire and Worcestershire; Birmingham, Solihull and the Black Country; and Shropshire and Staffordshire. There are currently 22 Clinical Commissioning Groups (CCGs), operating with three Local Area Teams (LATs), and supported by three Commissioning Support Units (CSUs). 

There are 19 NHS hospitals trusts, six NHS mental health services trusts and one NHS ambulance trust in the West Midlands. 12 of these are Foundation Trusts.

  • Graduate opportunities
  • Internships / placements

    There are currently no vacancies on TARGETjobs. Please check back soon.

    Remember to mention TARGETjobs when contacting employers!