Sector menu

Specific Learning Difficulties

Courses are principally designed to enable classroom practitioners gain a high level of knowledge and skill so that they can expertly meet the needs of learners with specific learning difficulties (SpLDs).

Course modules

Typical units of study may include: Year 1: you will study 2 units: SpLD: nature, assessment and intervention; SpLD: intervention and the practice of teaching; successful completion of these units leads to BDA approved teacher status or approved practitioner status (for those without QTS). Year 2: you will study a further 2 units for the PgDIP; SpLD: support for learning: management of SpLD from early years to GCSE; SpLD: legal issues and consultancy; successful completion of these two units leads to the award of AMBDA. Year 3: successful completion of years 1 and 2 and a dissertation in year 3 leads to an MA specific learning difficulties.

Assessment methods

Written assignments and supervised teaching practice.


Qualification Study mode Start month Fee Fee locale Course duration
Postgraduate Diploma - PgDip Part-time September 2017 1 Years
MA Part-time September 2017 1 Years

Get in touch today and increase your future employability