TARGETjobs black logo

Nottingham Institute of Education

Sector menu
Nottingham Institute of Education


The Cambridge CELTA (Certificate in English Language Teaching to Adults) is an initial qualification for people with little or no previous teaching experience and opens up a whole world of exciting teaching opportunities.

TEFL or TESOL are terms often used to describe qualifications for English Language teachers. CELTA, the most widely taken initial TESOL / TEFL qualification of its kind in the world, was previously known as CTEFLA and the RSA certificate.

CELTA is accepted throughout the world by organisations which employ English Language teachers and is the minimum qualification required by British Council accredited institutions worldwide. The Cambridge CELTA has been accredited by Ofqual (the Office of the Qualifications and Examinations Regulation) at Level Five on the National Qualifications Framework for England. Cambridge English also works with international ELT organisations to ensure the acceptance of CELTA globally.

Entry requirements

Ideally you should:

  • have a standard of education equivalent to that required for entry into higher education
  • be aged 20 or over
  • have a standard of English which will enable you to teach at a range of levels.

We may still accept you if you do not have formal qualifications at this level but can demonstrate that you would be likely to complete the course successfully. We may, at our discretion, accept applicants aged between 18 and 20.

Course modules

There are five main units of learning:

  • learners and teachers, and the teaching and learning context
  • language analysis and awareness
  • language skills: reading, listening, speaking and writing
  • planning and resources for different contexts
  • developing teaching skills and professionalism.

Assessment methods

You will be assessed throughout the course, with no final examination. An external assessor, appointed by Cambridge ESOL, moderates each course. There are two components of assessment:

  • Teaching practice: You will teach for a total of six hours, working with classes at two levels of ability. Assessment is based on your overall performance at the end of the six hours.
  • Written assignments: You will complete four written assignments: one focusing on adult learning; one on the language system of English; one on language skills; and one on classroom teaching.

To be awarded the certificate you must pass both components. There are three grades — Pass, Pass B and Pass A.

Sponsorship information

Home students can apply for an Advanced Learner Loan to help with course costs.


Qualification Study mode Start month Fee Fee locale Course duration
Certificate Part-time £ 1,500 (Whole course) Home/EU 26 Weeks

Get in touch today and increase your future employability